Review: Laid Out by Sidney Halston! @SidneyHalston

 
 Spoiler alert…just to warn you there may be some spoilers in this review!
Laid Out (Worth the Fight #4)
Sidney Halston
ebook, 302 pages
Expected publication: August 18th 2015 by Loveswept

Perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and Cecy Robson, Sidney Halston’s scorching new MMA romance proves there are no holds barred when it comes to seduction.
Growing up an Army brat, Violet Channing could never meet her dad’s high expectations. But in the eyes of her best friend, she could do no wrong. He even insisted that he should be her first kiss. Now Cain Sorensen is all grown up, hardened by years in special ops and always looking for a good fight. Tall, with striking blue eyes and impossibly blond hair, he’s a modern-day Viking warrior. Of course, Violet’s all grown up, too, and she’s ready to surrender to his every command.
Cain knows he’s bad for Violet. His work is dangerous, and his hobbies are downright deadly. As a private mercenary and a mixed martial arts fighter, he could never let such an innocent soul into his world. And yet his most grueling combat training is no match for Violet’s killer curves, hot touch, and suggestive glances. Now all of Cain’s most explosive fantasies are coming true—but once they cross the line between friends and lovers, there’s no turning back.
Karia’s Review
Violet Channing: army (not so bratty) brat who grew up with two best friends, Cain and Jeremy. Cain was her first kiss and Jeremy was her first almost everything else. But after his death in Afghanistan, Jeremy was no longer Violet’s anything. I was so frustrated with Violet, since she refused to really comprehend her own feelings, her reactions to Cain and especially Cain’s behavior towards her. There were so many TSTL moments in this story and most of them were Violet’s…but some were on Cain’s part too.
Cain has so much baggage and so much anger that he can’t see the forest for the trees. Years of putting off his feelings for Violet have meant that he has channeled his emotions and his energy into fighting. As he and Violet get closer and closer to each other again, Cain partakes in more and more dangerous behaviors. I really wish they would have just got drunk in the first chapter and had it out…full out, dragging yelling fight with make-up hawt loving! Then have all the other issues thrown in, but the back and forth about Violet being “Jer’s Girl” really pissed me off. The fact that Cain knew 12 years earlier that Violet was the only one for him and then he stepped aside for Jeremy because Jeremy seemed to love her so much…made me want to throw the iPad across the room! I was so glad when these two finally got together and realized that it has never been like it was with them like that with any other…Dahhh.

The fighters and side characters were all great and I am excited for JL and Enzo to get their HEA! JL has a lot of growing up to do and I sure hope she pulls her head out of her backside quickly. Momma wants more fights and more lovin’!!!
Enjoy!

Praise for Sidney Halston’s Against the Cage
“Against the Cage is funny, steamy, scorching—and holy hot MMA fighter, I wanted more! Five stars all the way!”—New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Toni Aleo
“A steamy and fun romance that will leave readers begging for more! Sidney Halston is an author to watch!”—New York Times bestselling author Cherry Adair
“Halston’s new series opener creates an organic and sensual dynamic between Jack and Chrissy that makes an easy buy-in for readers.”—Library Journal
Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s